clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

More of those extraordinary, wonderful Mauer numbers

Tired of hearing about how great Joe Mauer is?  I suspect not.  Chew on this one, for awhile:

Mauer is leading the American League in batting average, on-base percentage, and slugging percentage.  He's actually doing so by fairly wide margins in each category.

If he finishes out the year like this, it'll be the eighteenth season in league history it's happened.  The others:

Nap Lajoie, 1901
George Stone, 1906
Ty Cobb, 1909
Tris Speaker, 1916
Ty Cobb, 1917
Babe Ruth, 1924
Lou Gehrig, 1934
Jimmie Foxx, 1938
Ted Williams, 1941
Ted Williams, 1942
Ted Williams, 1947
Ted Williams, 1948
Ted Williams, 1957
Frank Robinson, 1966
Carl Yastrzemski, 1967
Fred Lynn, 1979
George Brett, 1980

In light of the current MVP debate, I also thought I'd check to see which of these gentlemen won the MVP award.  Note that until 1930, voting was sporadic, and even then previous winners were ineligible.  So, for the eleven since 1930:

Won: Foxx, Robinson, Yastrzemski, Brett
2nd: Williams '41, Williams '42, Williams '47, Williams '57
3rd: Williams '48
4th: Lynn
5th: Gehrig

The conclusions we can draw from this:

  1. Just being a historically outstanding hitter is not necessarily guarantee of winning the MVP;
  2. Sportwriters really couldn't stand Ted Williams;
  3. How Fred Lynn didn't win the MVP in 1979 is beyond me;
  4. Joe Mauer is awesome.