clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Minnesota Twins Opening Day lineups: 2006 - 2015

Let's look at the last ten years of starting lineups for our Twins.

G. N. Lowrance/Getty Images

Ever think about how much your favorite team has changed in the last 12 months? Tracking player movement is a fun way of watching the rises and falls of a club, and no way may illustrate that point more clearly than looking at a chart of opening day lineups.

The Twins have announced their lineup for today's game versus the Tigers. With that information in hand, how has the Twins' opening day lineup, including starting pitcher, changed over the years? Have a look.

Lineup 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010
1 Shannon Stewart Luis Castillo Carlos Gomez Denard Span Denard Span
2 Luis Castillo Nick Punto Joe Mauer Alexi Casilla Orlando Hudson
3 Joe Mauer Joe Mauer Michael Cuddyer Michael Cuddyer Joe Mauer
4 Rondell White Michael Cuddyer Justin Morneau Justin Morneau Justin Morneau
5 Torii Hunter Justin Morneau Delmon Young Jason Kubel Michael Cuddyer
6 Justin Morneau Torii Hunter Craig Monroe Joe Crede Jason Kubel
7 Tony Batista Rondell White Mike Lamb Carlos Gomez Delmon Young
8 Jason Kubel Jeff Cirillo Brendan Harris Mike Redmond J.J. Hardy
9 Juan Castro Jason Bartlett Adam Everett Nick Punto Nick Punto
SP Johan Santana Johan Santana Livan Hernandez Francisco Liriano Scott Baker

Lineup 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015
1 Denard Span Denard Span Aaron Hicks Brian Dozier Danny Santana
2 Tsuyoshi Nishioka Jamey Carroll Joe Mauer Kurt Suzuki Brian Dozier
3 Joe Mauer Joe Mauer Josh Willingham Joe Mauer Joe Mauer
4 Justin Morneau Justin Morneau Justin Morneau Josh Willingham Torii Hunter
5 Delmon Young Josh Willingham Ryan Doumit Chris Colabello Kennys Vargas
6 Michael Cuddyer Ryan Doumit Trevor Plouffe Trevor Plouffe Trevor Plouffe
7 Jason Kubel Danny Valencia Chris Permelee Oswaldo Arcia Oswaldo Arcia
8 Danny Valencia Chris Parmelee Brian Dozier Aaron Hicks Kurt Suzuki
9 Alexi Casilla Alexi Casilla Pedro Florimon Pedro Florimon Jordan Schafer
SP Carl Pavano Carl Pavano Vance Worley Ricky Nolasco Phil Hughes