clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2017 Home Run Derby: Watch with us!

The Home Run Derby is tonight, and The Twins’ Miguel Sano is in it! Come watch with your fellow fans.

Minnesota Twins v Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim
Photo by Victor Decolongon/Getty Images

Welcome to the 2017 Home Run Derby! It’s on ESPN.

That’s right, it’s that annual night of the year where we watch a bunch of big dudes take batting practice and pretend to be entertained. Every year I usually joke that I’m playing “The Home Run Derby Drinking Game”, the only rule of which is that you keep drinking until the Home Run Derby is actually entertaining.

This year, however, I’m actually pretty excited. The field is stacked with young sluggers, including our very own Miguel Sano!

The new format that debuted last year has also made the derby faster and more entertaining. Contestants are actually timed now, so they can’t just sit around watching balls fly by them forever.

The contest is also bracketed now, instead of just whoever hits the most home runs in round one, two, etc. Miguel Sano—who was seeded fifth—will face Mike Moustakas—who was seeded fourth—in the first round. If Sano advanced, he will face with Giancarlo Stanton or Gary Sanchez (meaning he’ll probably face Giancarlo Stanton).

Giancarlo Stanton won the Home Run Derby last year at PetCo Park, which is famous for being hard to hit dingers at.

Here are the rest of the contestants in this year’s derby:

American League

National League

What I do NOT know is if the Marlins Park Home Run sculpture, a.k.a. the Dinger Machine, will go off after ever home run. I sincerely hope so—feels like that thing was created for this very night.


Who do you think will win the Home Run Derby?

This poll is closed

  • 26%
    Miguel Sano
    (15 votes)
  • 21%
    Aaron Judge
    (12 votes)
  • 17%
    Giancarlo Stanton
    (10 votes)
  • 1%
    Mike Moustakas
    (1 vote)
  • 1%
    Gary Sanchez
    (1 vote)
  • 1%
    Cory Bellinger
    (1 vote)
  • 0%
    Justin Bour
    (0 votes)
  • 0%
    Charlie Blackmon
    (0 votes)
  • 28%
    Joe Mauer
    (16 votes)
56 votes total Vote Now