clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

BBWAA elects four players to the baseball Hall of Fame

Former Twins slugger Jim Thome will join former Twin Jack Morris in Cooperstown this summer.

Detroit Tigers v Minnesota Twins
See? Jim Thome is high-fiving Orlando Hudson.
Photo by Hannah Foslien /Getty Images

The results of the BBWAA’s Hall of Fame balloting for 2018 are in, and the writers have elected four players: Jim Thome, Chipper Jones, Vladimir Guerrero, and Trevor Hoffman. Thome — the former Twin — was elected with 89.8% of the vote.

Not elected into the Hall of Fame? The three non-Thome former Twins on the ballot: Orlando Hudson, Livan Hernandez, and Johan Santana


The bad news? Johan Santana only got 10 votes, which is equal to 2.4%. Hence, he will be removed from future Hall of Fame ballots.

It’s a real shame, because Santana — I think — has a more legitimate Hall of Fame case then ten freaking votes. He was the best pitcher in the world for several years. His numbers compared to Sandy Koulfax’s (though he lacks the postseason heroics). Johan’s Career was cut short, like Kirby Puckett’s, and Kirby made it to the Hall of Fame! It’s just a serious bummer for one of the greatest pitchers of all time, who happened to turn up on a ballot that was overstuffed with qualified candidates, and a 10-player-per-ballot voting restriction for writers.

Joining the four BBWAA inductees this summer will be former Twin and St. Paul native Jack Morris, plus Alan Trammel. They were inducted into the baseball Hall of Fame via the Veteran’s Committee vote about a month ago.

You can see the full results to the BBWAA voting here.

P.S. — To anyone wondering, Orlando Hudson... received 0.0% of the vote, so he’ll also be dropping off the ballot. Sorry, O-Dawg? But still an accomplishment to even make the ballot!