clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Game 46: Twins at Mariners

A West Coast game we can be awake to watch!

Minnesota Twins v Seattle Mariners
I will Arráez and go now, and go to Bases Free...
Photo by Stephen Brashear/Getty Images

First Pitch: 3:10 PM CDT


Radio: TIBN,

Know Thine Enemy: Lookout Landing

Now at the midpoint of their seven-game West Coast trip, the Twins look to complete a four-game sweep of the Mariners. Through their three wins, Minnesota has averaged 12 runs per game, highlighted by an 18-run barrage that carried over from last evening into this morning, and clobbered 11 home runs. Last night’s game was also the Twins’ fifth consecutive win, thus far their longest streak of the season, and the team’s 13th straight game with a dinger.

Kyle Gibson (4-1, 4.26 ERA) will take the mound for the visitors this afternoon, while the home squad will feature Yusei Kikuchi (2-1, 3.64 ERA), the latest Japanese pitching phenomenon to travers to MLB stadiums. As encouraged as Twins fans have been by Gibson’s last five starts (4-1 record, 2.73 ERA), Mariners supporters have found their excitement for Kikuchi to be justified, as the first-year Major Leaguer has one win, zero losses, and a 2.18 ERA through his three starts in May. Both teams sport batters capable of knocking out opposing starters, so every “good pitching versus good hitting” apothegm will be put to the test today.

Today’s game also marks the first start for Twins infielder Luis Arraez, who debuted yesterday in place of Jorge Polanco during Minnesota’s blowout win. Arráez knocked his first hit during the game, a double to left-center field. Here’s to more!

For those of you filling out your scorecards before the announcement to “please Arráez for the playing of our National Anthem,” here are

Today's Lineups

11 - Jorge Polanco - SS 9 - Dee Gordon - 2B
16 - Jonathan Schoop - DH 17 - Mitch Haniger - RF
24 - C.J. Cron - 1B 20 - Daniel Vogelbach - DH
20 - Eddie Rosario - LF 10 - Edwin Encarnación - 1B
64 - Willians Astudillo - C 16 - Domingo Santana - LF
22 - Miguel Sanó - 3B 22 - Omar Narváez - C
13 - Ehire Adrianza - RF 27 - Ryon Healy - 3B
2 - Luis Arráez - 2B 3 - J.P. Crawford - SS
25 - Byron Buxton - CF 0 - Mallex Smith - CF
44 - Kyle Gibson - RHP 18 - Yusei Kikuchi - LHP