clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Game 49: Twins at Angels

Let’s go sweeping.

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

MLB: Minnesota Twins at Los Angeles Angels
Your latest superstar.
Jayne Kamin-Oncea-USA TODAY Sports

First Pitch: 8:07 pm Central
Telly: FOX Sports North; (subscription)
Ear telly: WCCO 830 AM, Treasure Island Baseball Network; (español)
Know Thine Enemy: Halos Heaven

Heading into the series finale in Los Angeles, the Minnesota Twins have won seven of their last eight games. Unfortunately, Thursday brings an off day, although it is well-deserved.

Also of note: tonight’s game starts at 8:07 p.m. Central — one hour later than the last two nights. I know, I know, it was super generous of the schedulers to give the Twins an extra hour to travel back East, but even more generous for the fans who have been catching cat naps throughout the workday just to be able to stay up and watch the games.

Here’s to getting to sleep before midnight tonight!

The Twins will trot out Martin Perez, who bounced back from a loss to Detroit two starts ago with 6 23 innings of one-run ball in Seattle last Friday night. He enters Wednesday against the Angels with a season line that includes a 6-1 record, a 2.89 ERA, and a 1.26 WHIP. He did not face Los Angeles the last time these teams faced off.

The Angels will counter with Matt Harvey, the former Mets star who is struggling through the start of the season, although he’s pitched better of late. Overall, he’s just 2-3 with a 6.35 ERA and a 1.43 WHIP. He gave up two runs to the Royals over five innings last time out and just two runs to Baltimore the time before that, although he lasted just 4 23 innings.

Tonight, the Twins will look to polish off a sweep of the Angels and what would be a 6-1 West Coast swing. Additionally, Cleveland has already lost, so the Twins are entering the evening with a seven game lead in the division.

Here are your lineups for Twins-Angels.

Today's Lineups

Max Kepler - CF David Fletcher - LF
Jorge Polanco - SS Mike Trout - DH
Marwin Gonzalez - RF Albert Pujols - 1B
Eddie Rosario - LF Jonathan Lucroy - C
C.J. Cron - 1B Tommy La Stella - 3B
Luis Arraez - DH Luis Rengifo - 2B
Miguel Sano - 3B Kole Calhoun - RF
Jonathan Schoop - 2B Zack Cozart - SS
Willians Astudillo - C Brian Goodwin - CF