clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Voting for the All-Star Game Starters Election starts today

You only have 28 hours to vote!

Brad Rempel-USA TODAY Sports

In case you are not in the loop, the rules have changed regarding the voting system for Major League Baseball’s All-Star Game, which is at Progressive Field in Cleveland, Ohio, this year. This off-season, MLB decided that voting would happen in two different phases. The first phase, the Primary, had baseball fans vote for a player at each position (and three in the outfield) in each league, including a designated hitter for the American League. The three players (nine outfielders) with the most votes in each position in each league would move on to the second phase, the Starters Election, for fans to vote for the player at each position in each league that they believe should start the All-Star Game this year.

In case you are really not in the loop about your favorite team, four of our Minnesota Twins have made it to the Starters Election. OF Eddie Rosario, DH Nelson Cruz, SS Jorge Polanco, and 1B C.J. Cron all advanced to the final round of voting and have great chances of making it to the starting lineup of the Midsummer Classic.

The Starters Election starts today at 11a Central and runs until tomorrow at 3p Central, so you only have 28 hours to vote. Everyone can only vote once during that period per valid e-mail address. Winners will be announced on tomorrow night at 7p on ESPN. Make sure your vote is for players from your favorite team! (Hopefully that team is the Twins...)