clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

RedHawks voted American Association Organization of the Year

Playing full-time host to two teams most of the season gets one team the award.

I miss baseball.
John von Mosch

In a small tidbit of American Association news, the final award of 2020 was announced earlier this week. League executives, managers, and media personnel from all 12 of the league’s teams voted for the AA’s Organization of the Year honors. This season, one team stood out from the rest.

The Fargo-Moorhead RedHawks was named the winner for this unprecedented season. Prior to the shortened season starting, the league announced that there would be six teams playing in three host cities. The clubs that were home to two teams included the Sioux Falls Canaries, who hosted the St Paul Saints; the Milwaukee Milkmen, whose stadium was also home to the Chicago Dogs; and the RedHawks, who were home to the Winnipeg Goldeyes. The Saints and Dogs were eventually allowed to play a majority of their home games in their actually home parks. In fact, Chicago was allowed to play all of their schedule home games from Impact Field as Illinois had rolled back restrictions prior to the league’s season.

However, with the international border closed, Winnipeg was forced to play most of their home games at Newman Outdoor Field in Fargo, with a handful of home games played at other league sites towards the end of the season. Essentially, the RedHawks club and staff worked six days a week the entire season to keep the stadium and field in shape for all the games, whether F-M was actually playing or not. Because of their effort, the team won the Organization of the Year award for the first time since joining the league in 2011.

Congratulations to the Fargo-Moorhead RedHawks!