clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Game 24: Brewers at Twins

New, 600 comments

Seems like we just saw these guys...

Minnesota Twins v Milwaukee Brewers Photo by Stacy Revere/Getty Images

First Pitch: 7:10p Central
Television: FOX Sports North
Radio (English): ‘CCO 830 AM, Treasure Island Baseball Network, KMNB 102.9 FM “The Wolf”
Radio (Spanish):
Know Thine Enemy: Brew Crew Ball, a Milwaukee Brewers community

After a successful weekend wraparound series against the Kansas City Royals, the Minnesota Twins face [checks notes... checks calendar... checks notes again...] the Milwaukee Brewers again. Oh, the joys of Major League Baseball scheduling. C’est la vie.

Kenta Maeda has been on a tear to start the season (no jinx, no jinx) and Twins skipper Rocco Baldelli gives the righty the start tonight against these familiar foes. MaeKen faced Milwaukee not more than a week ago, pitching six full innings plus two outs (easily the longest outing for a Twins starting pitcher so far this season), allowing two earned runs on five hits and striking out five batters. Taking notes, Twins rotation?? After another bullpen game last night, Maeda might be leaned on to go seven or more innings tonight.

After the Brew Crew dropped Eric Lauer to the alternate training site, they have chosen to slot Corbin Burnes into the rotation. In each of his four appearances this season (including one start), he’s gone more than three innings; one appearance saw him exceed five innings of work in long relief. He has length, but can the Bomba Squad get to him early? He’s been striking out batters at a 13.5 K/9 clip this season across 16 total innings of work. On the other hand, he walks batters at a rate of 6.2 BB/9.

Today's Lineups

Avisail Garcia - CF Max Kepler - RF
Christian Yelich - LF Jorge Polanco - SS
Keston Hiura - 2B Nelson Cruz - DH
Justin Smoak - 1B Eddie Rosario - LF
Ryan Braun - DH Marwin Gonzalez - 3B
Omar Narvaez - C Luis Arraez - 2B
Ben Gamel - RF Miguel Sano - 1B
Luis Urias - SS Byron Buxton - CF
Eric Sogard - 3B Alex Avila - C
Corbin Burnes - RHP Kenta Maeda - RHP