clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Game 31: Twins at Cleveland

New, 139 comments

I was going to do a thing about the song “Cleveland Rocks” and Drew Carey and then I lost steam and oh well, maybe another time.

Minnesota Twins Summer Camp Workout
Dick Mountain, #44 of the Minnesota Twins, pitches during a summer camp workout on July 6, 2020 at Target Field in Minneapolis, Minnesota.
Photo by Brace Hemmelgarn/Minnesota Twins/Getty Images

First Pitch: 610p Central/1110p GMT/410a Maldives/910a Chamorro
Television: FOX Sports North
Radio (English): WCCO 830 AM, Treasure Island Baseball Network, KMNB 102.9 FM “The Wolf”
Radio (Spanish):
Know Thine Enemy: Let’s Go Cluster

Congratulations to the Minnesota Twins on winning the American League Central for the first half of the 2020 MLB season! If Rob Manfred came up with some other stupid rule or playoff format like halving the season and giving the division winners of each half a playoff berth, the Twins would be in the playoffs. How about that? Hopefully Robert is not reading this.

Shane Bieber gets the nod from Cleveland tonight. He’s a maniac in the way that his 2020 stat line is just absurd: 5-0 W-L record, 1.11 ERA/1.74 FIP (418 ERA+), 40.2 IP, 65 K, 14.4 K/9, 10.83 K/BB ratio. He leads the majors in those categories. The Bomba Squad will need to get to work early and often on this supposed non-relative of Justin Bieber. (There’s your obligatory Justin Bieber reference for the night.)

The Twins will roll with Rich Hill, a.k.a. Dick Mountain. His first start after coming off the Injured List was against the Milwaukee Brewers in Milwaukee where he only went 2.2 innings and allowed four earned runs on four hits and three walks while getting only one punchout. Let’s hope he’s much better this time out, right?

Today's Lineups

Max Kepler - RF Cesar Hernandez - 2B
Jorge Polanco - SS Jose Ramirez - 3B
Nelson Cruz - DH Francisco Lindor - SS
Eddie Rosario - LF Carlos Santana - 1B
Miguel Sano - 1B Franmil Reyes - DH
LaMonte Wade - CF Jordan Luplow - LF
Marwin Gonzalez - 3B Domingo Santana - RF
Luis Arraez - 2B Roberto Perez - C
Ryan Jeffers - C Delino DeShields - CF
Rich Hill - LHP Shane Bieber - RHP